European Citizen’s Prize

The European Parliament has honoured 50 people and organisations from 26 EU countries with this year’s Citizen’s Prize for their contribution to European cooperation and the promotion of common values. The jury, headed by Parliament Vice-President Sylvie Guillaume, selected the 2016 laureates after a consultation of the 79 proposals that made it through to the national juries. Since 2008 the Parliament awards the European Citizen’s Prize every year to projects and initiatives that facilitate cross-border cooperation or promote mutual understanding within the EU. The prize, which has symbolic value, is also intended to acknowledge the work of those who through their day-to-day activities promote European values.

The Committee for the Defence of Democracy is one of the winners of this year’s European Citizen’s Prize. KOD members came to Brussels for an award ceremony on Wednesday October 12th, that celebrates their contribution to Europe. Since 2008, each MEP has been able to make one nomination per year for a National Jury in their Member State to select proposed candidates for the award. The final selection of the winners is made by the European Citizen’s Prize Chancellery in Brussels. The European Citizen’s Prize laureates are chosen for their outstanding contributions to the promotion of cooperation and a better mutual understanding between the citizens of the Member States.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of